Guacamole Says Summertime & the Secret to Avocados

It can’t just be me! I can’t be the only one that sees the sun shining outside and thinks to herself “patio weather!!” Followed immediately by visions of ice cold margaritas and giant bowls of freshly mashed guacamole. Patio drinking and snacking just says summertime.

If you ask me, the secret to goodgreatincredible guacamole is THE AVOCADO.

Mind blowing, right?! The main ingredient. And that’s how it should stay. Fresh, ripe avocado with hints of flavor, but not out done by it. Keep your guacamole simple with a few key additions and you’re ready to party!

One combination I’ve been loving lately are diced cherry tomatoes, a tsp. minced garlic, chopped cilantro, a squeeze of lime and a few dashes of salt.

It’s one of the simplest recipes to follow. The most difficult part may just be getting all the avocado good-ness (a word?? Yes) INTO the bowl. I have a few tips to share that have worked for me but feel free to comment with your own!!! It’ll be like a Secrets of the Avocado webbie party!

FIRST I take my avocado and cut it into two halves. Wait, scratch that… first I knock off the ugly black tip thingy… Which is also a good sign your avocado is ripe. It should be slightly squishy but not complete mush. Something I’ve discovered that everyone else may already know, but was news to me, is that once they’re perfectly ripe you can pop them in the fridge to keep for a few days 😊👍.

Okay, so knock off thingy, cut in half… Then de-seed it. There’s just one large pit in the avocado but I used to have SUCH a painful time removing it. Then one day I’m at a restaurant and the guy demonstrates the most brilliant way to remove the pit. You’re already holding your large knife you used to cut it in half, just kinda whack the knife into the pit diagonally, then twist! It comes right off on the knife.

avocado1

Hopefully the animated gif here helps!

P.S. – if you want to make your own gifs too just check out the Party Party app by these wonderful ladies at A Beautiful Mess! I’ve been having way too much fun with it so expect more!

The next step is to scoop out all the good stuff inside.  I love my avocado tool that slices as you scoop – if you’re a big avocado aficionado it’s work the couple bucks to have it on hand.

avocado2

After you’ve got 4-5 Avocados sliced, scooped and into your bowl it’s time to add any extra ingredients to jazz it up!  Honestly, a bit of salt and lime and pinch of minced garlic go a long way BUT I like to add some diced cherry tomatoes since they’re so good for you.

cherrytomatoes

Just dice them up and throw them in the bowl… then the cilantro if you want to.

makingguacamole

Yep, that’s a Costco sized container of minced garlic in the back ground and it might last me my WHOLE LIFE.  But we shall see.  It looks like it’s all tomatoes and cilantro in the photo but that’s just because we haven’t mixed it yet!  I swear there are 5 whole avocados under that top layer!

Final step – MASH IT ALL UP!

guacamole

Serve with chips and preferably a cold margarita.  My all-time favorite dipping chips are these.

 

So what’s your favorite way to make Guacamole?  Are you an avocado fan?  I hated them as a kid and can’t get enough now!

What food to you just says summertime ??!

 

xo

B3

Leave a Reply

